top of page
  • hannahrelton4

Recital Round Two

Updated: Jan 28, 2019

Tonight was the second night of dress rehearsal for Saturday's recital. Just like last night I had to find a balance in my time between getting myself prepared to dance, as well as, getting my students prepared to dance. This is easily the most difficult issue I have encountered throughout this entire season. While being an assistant teacher of a competition level class is an important job, I also have to prepare myself for the dances that I preform in. I have learned that if I get myself ready to go ahead of time I then have more time to work with the 8 and under tap classes before their performance. Although I knew that this would most likely happen yet again, all of my little kids wanted me to play with them in the dressing room backstage in between their dances. Tonight's performance was very similar to last night in that the spacing of the girls was off. Even though tonight we marked the center of the stage for them as a reference to where they should stand, my younger kids still started off the dance standing too close to the left. Due to them starting too close to the left of the stage, spacing was off the entire dance. The older kids did better on spacing; however, still failed to begin the dance in the center of the stage. Hopefully through spending time working on this at practice over the next few they will nail their performance at recital on Saturday.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Looking Back and Looking Forwards

Looking back on this last competition season I have to say that it was one of the best. Not only did my two tap classes have the opportunity to dance in finals but my older kids won the entire compet

The Big Awards

Today was the big day! Today was the day that we found out which groups made it in finals and which did not. I am very excited to say that I have very good news to report. Not only did my older tap

bottom of page