top of page
  • hannahrelton4

The Big Day

Today was the big day! The day that all of this dance season's hard work will pay off. The day that my little tap kids get the chance to dance for their chance in the finals at nationals. Just like at

recital I gave all of the kids good luck goodie bags getting them excited about going on stage for their performance. Before going on

stage, Lindsay and I ran both of the groups a few times to get them in the flow and ready to preform. The kids got their costumes on and prepared their make up for the big moment. My first group, Peppermint Twist, was first to dance. From back stage they seemed to have done the best I had seen them dance the entire year; however, it is not really up to me to make the decision on their scores. Even though they could have done stronger with facial expressions and interacting with the judges, the technique of the tap moves where preformed well. The other group, unfortunately did one of their worst performances. One of the girls fell out of a turn and one of the other girls forgot part of the dance. Even with the bad performance, they are on the older age of the category; therefore, their dance is more complicated. I hope that this is what allows them to pull through with a high rating and a spot in finals. It was very nerve racking to waiting the hours until the awards, but when the time came I took all of the kids on stage and sat them down for awards. My first group received a platinum rating and forth place overall. My second group surprised me. Even though they did not preform well the judges must have seen something in them because they received a crystal and

first place overall for that section. While this

was exciting, the anticipation for if they made finals would continue. Even ending this section in first and forth place was a good sign towards nationals it does not mean that they are automatically in. All I can do now is hope.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Looking Back and Looking Forwards

Looking back on this last competition season I have to say that it was one of the best. Not only did my two tap classes have the opportunity to dance in finals but my older kids won the entire compet

The Big Awards

Today was the big day! Today was the day that we found out which groups made it in finals and which did not. I am very excited to say that I have very good news to report. Not only did my older tap

bottom of page